Countdown

The countdown is on for my next trip to India, this time for six months. Flying out on 15 October to Delhi, arriving on the morning of the 16th, then a short flight to Dehradun, the capital city of Uttarakhand in the Indian Himalayas. The main purpose of my visit in this northern region is to visit a group of hand weavers who use local plants to colour their fine wool, silk and pashmina products. These artisans receive a fair wage for their work, and I am hoping to add some of their beautiful products to the KASU EMPORIUM catalogue.  I’ll also be checking out the local markets for interesting goodies for KASU as well as catching up with a couple of friends.

File:Pashmina goats.jpg
Pashmina goats

After a few days in Dehradun, I will gird my loins for the long train trip to Varanasi on the Ganges in Uttar Pradesh nearly 900km  and 20 hours away.

I will be based at Assi Ghat in Varanasi, living at Groovy Ganges family guesthouse with hosts Nandan and Bunti and the extended family.  I have stayed there on previous visits, and am always made to feel like one of the family. Meal times are always interesting  when the guests and family gather to eat and chat. Guests are usually scholars or NGO workers  from various parts of the world and discussion is always lively and stimulating.  Festivals are a special time and I have been fortunate to enjoy both Diwali and Holi in Varanasi, the oldest living city in the world.

On this trip, I will be volunteering with Lok Samiti, at Mehndiganj, a village near Varanasi.  Lok Samiti is doing great work with primary and non-formal education for underpriviledged children. Special attention is given to the education of girls, and vocational training for young and married women.  Awareness of human rights, anti-corruption, environmental issues, right to food and improving the lot of Dalit people are all issues Lok Samiti is addressing through their programs.

4 thoughts on “Countdown

  1. Anne Diepold

    Hi Bev,
    I was intending to send a good luck email before you left but I am too slow and you are already on your adventure. I have signed up for your blog and will look forward with great interest on your travels. All the best, Anne Diepold xx

    Reply
    1. Beverley Bloxham Post author

      Thanks Anne! Flying out of Melbourne tomorrow morning at 1am. Will be in Himalayas by night. Thanks for following! XB

      Reply
  2. Sharon O'Phee

    Hi Bev, I am so happy for you, following your dream. One more sleep to go hey. Well, sending much love from me and Pete and have an amazing journey. I look forward to hearing your tales. Blessings to you dear friend, love Sharon xo

    Reply
    1. Beverley Bloxham Post author

      Thanks so much sweetie! No more sleeps now – am off to airport soonish for 1:30am departure (aargh!). Talk soon from the road
      XB

      Reply

Leave a comment